Next Events


Toronto, ON

Maniwaki, QC

Latest News

  • Bulletin NRR 21.2 Starting Order
  • Bulletin National Rally Cross Regulations
  • Bulletin Open 2WD
  • Antoine L'Estage achieves perfect season with victory at the Rally of the Tall Pines
  • Bulletin Eligibility of vehicles and equipment

Latest Bulletins

  • Bulletin NRR 21.2 Starting Order
  • Bulletin National Rally Cross Regulations
  • Bulletin Open 2WD




CARS Office

Hours of operation
Monday to Fridays 9 am to 11 am (Mtn)
(11 am to 1 pm eastern)

Messages left outside of office hours will be responded to within one business day.

Box 300
Turner Valley , AB  T0L 2A0
+1 855 640-6444 (toll Free)
[email protected]

Canadian Rally Championship

The Canadian Rally Championship (CRC) is Canada's only national rallying series. 2007 marked the 50th anniversary of the Canadian Rally Championship, making it the longest running motorsport series in Canada. It has been run continuously since 1957 when Leslie Chelminski and Les Stanley from Montreal shared the very first national rally title in a factory-prepared Volkswagen Karmann-Ghia. In the early days, the rally championship was based on a navigational (also called time-speed-distance or TSD) rally series which, at times, had as many as twenty events in the series. The most notable Canadian car rallies in those days were the Canadian Winter Rally and the Shell 4000. Some Rally champions from the TSD era include Art Dempsey, Bill Silvera, and Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame inductees John Bird, Paul S. Manson, and Bruce D. Simpson.

As the sport gradually changed and adopted the European "stage" format, performance rallying became part of the Canadian motorsport picture. As opposed to TSD rallies, where competitors are required to follow the organizer's schedule, travel below posted speed limits and otherwise adhere to the rules of the public roads they are traveling on, performance rallies incorporate high speed "special stages" on roads closed to vehicles other than the rally cars, which must be specially prepared with full safety equipment. In 1973, the Canadian Rally Championship became based solely on stage rallies, including the Rally of the Tall Pines, which is still the premier event, and is held in November every year.